Time is Short – I Cannot Stay Quiet Any Longer!

First, let me say that I am not here to be calling out any names, or to try to “bring down” any ministries right now! I only hope to provide information to shed some light on teachings that are in error, and to show people the real Jesus Christ, of the Scriptures of the Holy Bible.

I need to say some things, to my brothers and sisters in Christ, about some misconceptions of so MANY of the people who are caught up in the Word Faith movement and Prosperity Gospel, because that is exactly what it is – they have been “snared”!

We need to have a loving heart for those in that deception… It is, many times, like being raised by a highly dysfunctional parent! Most get caught when they were 1) raised in a dead church that did not emphasize, or teach, that they needed to read the Word of God for themselves, or 2) they are a non-believer who wandered in to a WOF church – got caught up in all the emotion (the whole experience in one of these churches is a highly charged, emotional experience) – and just never learned anything else, or 3) they are brand-new Christians floundering, by themselves, and looking for direction (which was my case), or 4) they were born and raised in it, and know nothing else, but what they have been taught their whole life. Many of these church members really do not know anything else! They really do NOT need to be made fun of. They need sound doctrine, instruction, to be shown the Truth, and MERCY!

You see, I did not have the luxury of even knowing the Scriptures, yet, back when I was snared…

I was a brand-new Christian, floundering on my own, coming out of neo-Paganism and New Age teachings. I was previously a witch, tarot card reader, into yoga, entrenched in ISA (previously known as EST), into clothing-optional gatherings, dabbled in Buddhism, dabbled in Reiki and crystal healing, read and believed much of “A Course in Miracles” (before it was made “popular” by Oprah), jewelry maker of “commitment bands” (which I sold to gay couples) and crystal jewelry (I “charged” those with spells and sold them at new-age and pagan festivals), into all the positive thinking stuff, persecuted Christians and their belief system, etc., etc., etc. This, sadly, was the first “church” I ended up in… See, if you do not know the scriptures for yourself (which is the state of MOST of the people in this movement), it is very EASY to get sucked into it…!

I remember sitting there thinking, “Cool, I did this stuff for satan’s team, before (the positive confession stuff – aka positive thinking, visualisation, etc.), but NOW I am on the RIGHT team, and I can do it for Jesus!” ***sigh***

We were never really encouraged to read all of The Word, for ourselves, we just flipped from scripture to scripture, along with the pastor, and the way he did it really made it seem “right”! I read all the books the pastor said to read (which, of course, were sold in the book store that the church had), got all the tapes he said to listen to, and listened to all the teachers on TBN he said were good to watch.

It was not until I had some run-ins with some of the “leadership” (in the children’s church), the pastor, the pastor’s wife, and some of the “ushers” (more like “bouncers”, in a bar), and some emotional abuse done to my two eldest children, that we finally quit going to that church. You see, I realize looking back, I was not a really “good” cult-member (I began questioning things, and saying “no” to them). One of the “ushers” even kept calling my house, and coming to my door (always during times when my husband was not there – I did not answer either one), after we quit going. You see, that is one of the ways that they “get” people, “counsel” family members to get a family member to “get out of sin” (sin usually being – questioning anything the leadership says or does), and “keep” them in the church…

I first proceeded to wean myself OFF of the books, tapes, and TV messages… Also, I began to read the Bible FOR MYSELF! Wow, were MY eyes opened up to the depth of the deception, and how the scriptures had all been taken out of context, and twisted around to sound “right”! Then, I began to be able to (by the Grace of our LORD, and the help of the Holy Spirit) deprogram myself, from ALL of it (the Paganism, the New Age thinking, and the Word of Faith teachings – which are ALSO very “New Age” teachings)!

This transformation has NOT happened overnight, but The Lord has been FAITHFUL in the “renewing of my mind”! It has been a LONG journey, and I cannot even pinpoint the moment I really realized that I was getting OUT of all of it… There was, and still is, a LOT of JUNK, in my mind, to get rid of!

Also, please note, one of the BIG teachings (mentioned in almost every sermon) in WOF is to “touch not, the Lord’s anointed” (taken out of context, of course), thus, conveniently making it impossible to question ANYTHING that the pastors, or visiting pastors, might say or do, because if you do, you stand the chance of being CURSED BY GOD, and who in their right mind wants THAT to happen…?! These are just SOME of the ways in which these churches are very cult-like, and spiritually abusive… They are even very careful about the wording of the songs they sing in church (even sometimes changing the words in good, solid, traditional hymns – like getting rid of the word “wretch” in “Amazing Grace”!), so as to not accidentally have a “negative confession” of some kind, in the song…! Continual bondage, not Grace!   :-(

If you run into WOF people (most will go on the defensive, and actually be AFRAID to even question what they have been taught), and IF they begin (Lord willing) to REALIZE that they have been deceived, PLEASE know that they will need to go through a mourning process! They are really hurting! It HURTS to find out you’ve been believing in a “false Jesus” (more like a genie, magic 8-ball, or a Santa figure…), and that you may not really even be a true Christian! There can be sadness, anger, anxiety, euphoria (I had that, after I realized I did NOT have to worry about every single little word coming out of my mouth having the possibility of CURSING my whole life! There is SO MUCH BONDAGE in the WOF!), withdrawal, etc. and then, eventually, the Peace that passes all understanding! Please remember the following verse, and realize that most people coming out of this usally need the MERCY part!

But you, beloved, ought to remember the words that were spoken beforehand by the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ, that they were saying to you, “In the last time there will be mockers, following after their own ungodly lusts.” These are the ones who cause divisions, worldly-minded, devoid of the Spirit. But you, beloved, building yourselves up on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Spirit, keep yourselves in the love of God, waiting anxiously for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to eternal life. And have mercy on some, who are doubting; save others, snatching them out of the fire; and on some have mercy with fear, hating even the garment polluted by the flesh.

Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling, and to make you stand in the presence of His glory blameless with great joy, to the only God our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen. (Jude 17-25  NASB)

 

Okay, I guess I am done, for now…

~Annette

Addendum:
Below, you will find three talks that are really very good at explaining what WOF preachers teach, how they teach it, and explanations of how they use the scriptures, and twist them around. He is NOT a raving, rabid, speaker. He teaches it in a very matter-of-fact way, so that you can know what people in this movement are talking about, and possibly find ways to talk to them about what they are being taught.

http://www.sermonaudio.com/sermoninfo.asp?SID=640319236 (Part 1)

http://www.sermonaudio.com/sermoninfo.asp?SID=6603164431 (Part 2)

http://www.sermonaudio.com/sermoninfo.asp?SID=6120318137 (Part 3)

Posted on August 8, 2011, in Faith, Introductions, Spiritual Preparedness, Uncategorized, Word of Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. You raise some very good points here. I have found that Jesus’ new commandment is to love one another, our brothers and sisters in Christ so we cannot just abandon them in the church but must fight the powers of darkness that come against the pastors and leaders that have brought them into bondage. The best way to be this type of prophet is not through physically verbal confrontation but through the Holy Ghost’s leading and working by prayer and in the spirit realm. God says that it is not by might nor by power but by his spirit that these things are broken. Read Isaiah 22:1-5 and learn to live in the valley of vision because that is where the walls are torn down and mountains crumble. God bless you and be very careful in the way you handle your revelation. Don’t let satan work through you to tear apart the church but let God use your prayer and supplication to solve the problem in the church. God has given me a special ministry in this area. He called me to it by giving me a vision of myself in a closed in space with louvers that I looked out through and he spoke to me and said that this was my office in the church. I realized that in my vision I was in the bell tower of a church building. God showed me that it is a position of a prophetess. I have fought the spiritual warfare in several churches since then. God has won many victories in the church. Two of them had ego maniac pastors who refused to allow anyone to work in the gifts of the spirit. One of them got the church into so much debt that they almost lost their building. Another church had a pastor who was commiting adultry with women in the congregation. In one case the offending pastor had a stroke and stepped down, another moved away and the adulterer was caught by a pregnancy and forced out of ministry. Every time I sat back and asked God to use me only as he wanted to without any of my own input. When he told me to give a message in tongues to the church with a pastor who only recognized himself as having any message for the church, I told God that the only way I could give the message was for his power to take over me and make it impossible for me not to give it. He did and people told me that they knew it was from God because his power was so great. I refused to go against anyone but let God do ALL the work.

  2. Hi.
    I just happened to find your blog. What an incredible story and testimony to the faithfulness of our Lord toward us! I too came out of WOF, healing rooms, the (false) prophetic, etc. etc., what I and many others commonly refer to charismania – aka supernatural weirdness.

    I started researching in July 08 and like you I couldn’t believe the amount of lies I had been taught and had been teaching others. God is faithful to save us and the word says we will find Him when we seek Him with all our hearts!

    Be blessed – you are free in Christ! :)

  3. standingasamanforjesus

    Praise the Lord for your testimony. I pray that your family life will increase in blessing with the love of God.

  4. Hello there, I just found this blog by anniem8 liking a post on our groupblog and I clicked a link to this article,,, It is very awesome. I also looked at a couple of more articles and read your about me page. TY for sharing with and helping others. I would like to ask if it will be OK if I take this article and post it and put it on our Ex-WoF testimony list. I get told all the time that the testimonies are the most helpful to visitors to our site and you certainly have a great testimony that needs to be shared as much as possible. So will it be OK for me to do that?

    Thanks
    Damon Whitsell

    • Yes, that is fine. If it can help just ONE person to realize that they are not alone, and that getting OUT is the BEST thing, it would be a blessing! If it might help a friend, or family member, to know what their loved-one is facing, that would be a wonderful thing also! That is why I wrote it out in the first place. <3

  5. Thank you. I am at the same place of speaking out about all this deception. If just one will listen and the Lord brings them out, it is worth speaking out. There will be much opposition from the WOF protecting their source of MONEY…

  6. If Nazi Germany (1933-1945), a so-called Christian nation, could be deluded by a charismatic leader such as Adolf Hitler who implemented “the final solution of the Jewish question” wherein some 6 million Jews were culled, what more when bible-believing saints of today hold the LORD GOD hostage to His Word by their legitimate claims upon scripture–if only unwittingly–so that the Lord grants them their hearts desire: so-called anointed apostolic leaders that gradually displace God as Father, King and Teacher. 1 Samuel 8:7 And the Lord said to Samuel, “Heed the voice of the people in all that they say to you; for they have not rejected you, but they have rejected Me, that I should not reign over them. 1 John 2:26 These things I have written to you concerning those who try to deceive you. 27 But the anointing which you have received from Him abides in you, and you do not need that anyone teach you; but as the same anointing teaches you concerning all things, and is true, and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you will abide in Him. The following article written by yours truly is likewise accompanied by an illustration of the Beast of Revelation 13. It is to your discretion should you choose to share this article publicly (with or without the link to a noteworthy article by Lance Goodall of Christian Witness Ministries). Thank you. ~ Larry James

    WORD-FAITH PANDEMIC. Here in cosmopolitan Singapore we have our fair share of a different gospel running the gamut of local churches (Galatians 1:6-10; 2 Corinthians 11:4). As a matter of fact I’ve even attended New Creation Church for two and a half years as part of an ecclesiastical study apart from serving. Whilst in the pews of a hyper grace seeker-sensitive church, I’ve heard the sounds of perversity from the horse’s mouth–Joseph Prince himself–and his minions twisting scripture that is sadly regurgitated by mindless shepherds to their sheep at home cell units. With the likes of Word-Faith proponents such as Matt Crouch, Richard Roberts, Kenneth Hagin, Judah Smith, Darlene Z etc. gracing the stage, imagine that after JP’s debut at Osteen’s Lakewood Church in 2011, a home cell leader could actually ask us, “Do you think its ok to adore Ps Prince?” No, that’s not the straw that broke the camel’s back. Imagine the superstitious embrace of the Eucharist and the anointing oil for the miraculous if not grotesque–should one heed their promptings that ply the crude and silly. Furthermore, should one duly discern, JP’s focus on the bane of the Law is all but a distraction and a cop-out from a sincere exegesis of the Gospel and Pauline epistles in its entirety. Just as conjured parallels between Judaism and Islam seem amazing, amazing yet is one who preaches Jesus with a different gospel and misses Him entirely! What more then when the nation boasts of yet another heretic that has some 36,000 sheep under his watchful gaze–Kong Hee of City Harvest Church. Cho Yonggi, Benny Hinn and Phil Pringle are but the few that have hitched this wagon to only God knows where. Isn’t it amazing that God had vouchsafe for the worthless even though all nations before Him are as nothing, and they are counted by Him less than nothing and worthless (Isaiah 40:17)? Should USA be judged, she’s better off alphabetically. Should the scales fall from the eyes of the deluded, they will vomit the filth fed by these hireling shepherds that have crept in unawares to pollute every nook and cranny of the body of Christ. For that matter, Beyonce’s performance at Super Bowl 2013 can hardly differ depicting the deluded, be it the masses or a select few, that are ushered in rank and file, week in and week out to unwittingly channel in their alter ego plying the pulpit and yet be harnessed by deceit for merchandise. Madness. Or better yet the caption that says ‘Think–while its still legal!’ Never mind the gainsayers, should it baffle us when some make a defense of their pet heretic if only to confirm their delusion? Know that for every gainsayer, there are dozens more who are unbending in the pure Word of God. I can put up signs to warn you but no further than the fiery Pit. Just get the full Monty out folks–before its way too late! ~ Larry James, Singapore.

    Rev. 22:12 “And behold, I am coming quickly, and My reward is with Me, to give to every one according to his work. 13 I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End, the First and the Last.” 14 Blessed are those who do His commandments, that they may have the right to the tree of life, and may enter through the gates into the city. 15 But outside are dogs and sorcerers and sexually immoral and murderers and idolaters, and whoever loves and practices a lie. 16 “I, Jesus, have sent My angel to testify to you these things in the churches.

    ‘I totally agree with what you have to say!’ LT. [Lawrence Theodore Jeyachandran] Executive Director in Ravi Zacharias International Ministries (Asia-Pacific) April 2003-September 2012.

    ‘Dear Larry, Thank you for your very insightful article into the errors & fallacies in many modern churches and so called preachers of faith. Blessings!’ Rev. Alfred Ang Cheng Kiat (Emeritus Pastor) Emmanuel Assembly of God, Singapore

    ‘Dear Larry James, Thank you for this article. I have been very concerned about this issue for a very long time. These are some good places for further reflections…[websites]. And many more that you know. Thank you once again my friend!’ Ps. Pritam Singh Sandhu – South Asian Connection Founder/ President. Singapore

    The Fresh Prince – Destined To Ruin by Lance Goodall, CWM Ministries, 12/6/12 (Joseph) Prince is preaching a different Jesus, another gospel…and although he’s articulate, charismatic, convincing, and preaching ‘grace’; he is a blind leader of the blind, leading astray the unlearned and unstable. He is at best a false apostle, and at worst a conniving HERETIC! (2 Corinthians 11:12-15; 2 Peter 3:16).
    http://www.cwm.org.au/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=543:the-fresh-prince-destined-to-ruin&catid=88:issue-62-november-2012&Itemid=27

    Sze Zeng: A Deeper Look At Joseph Prince’s Destined to Reign
    http://szezeng.blogspot.sg/2008/10/deeper-look-at-joseph-princes-destined.html

    Joseph Prince and his message of radical grace – PLUS his word faith teachings.
    http://www.letusreason.org/Popteach56.htm Many see Prince as an excellent communicator. But what is exactly is he communicating? At first it seems he is focused on God’s grace, but there is a mixture. Many in Asia may not be aware of these issues on doctrine so we might have to begin at ground level to make sense on why what he stating is BIBLICALLY WRONG and can be hazardous to ones spiritual health. There are those who say: anyone who criticizes Prince has not listened to what he preaches. So we should go over what he preaches and what he has written to see what is of grace, what is exaggerated to be error and what is of word faith. We will have a copious amount of quotes through this article series.

  7. Reblogged this on Experience in the Word of Faith and commented:
    I like what Annette says in this post. I wanted to write something along these lines but she did such an awesome job, I decided to reblog.

  8. Thank you. I have bookmarked this site. So far, I am liking what I see on there! <3

  1. Pingback: What is the Word of Faith movement? | Stand Up for the Truth

  2. Pingback: Is there power in our faith? | Stand Up for the Truth

  3. Pingback: Ex-Word of Faith Testimony: Ex-WoFer is also a Former Witch who says The Word of Faith is Witchcraft « THE WORD on The Word of Faith (a GroupBlog)

  4. Pingback: HERESY ALERT!! WORD OF FAITH IS WITCHCRAFT!!! | The Shepherd/Guardian

Leave a Reply

Stand Up For The Truth

Connecting, Empowering & Connecting Christians

gospelscripts

Christian Calligraphy & Design

Christ Centred

Helping Ordinary People Keep Christ Central

Marc5Solas

Soli Deo gloria

The Reformed Reader

Discussing books - theological, historical, and biblical - from a Reformed Christian perspective...

Chief of the Least

Christ came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief....

BetterThanSacrifice.org

Bible-Based, Christ-Centred Resources and Comment

LegacyTV

Information and concepts of Legacy TV

Life After Ministry

Leading Mormons to the REAL Jesus Christ

Wild World of Religion: Under the Big Top

It's a 3-Ring Circus out there! Keep up with it all on this blog.

Just Us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mystery of the Iniquity

Truth is inspiring, it is guarded by GOD, and will triumph over all opposition!

The Extinction Protocol

Geologic and Earthchange News events

Wolf Tracks

keeping a watchful eye on the wolves

Refuting Blab It And Grab It Rhema Preachers

Exposing the lies of the Rhema Bible Training Center a.k.a Rhema Bible Twisting Center!

THE WORD on The Word of Faith (a GroupBlog)

BREAKING FREE from The Word of Faith Movement & telling the World about it! TELL US YOUR STORY

BELIEVE

THE TRUTH WILL SET YOU FREE

Itza Spectrum

The wide-sweeping spectrum, of a unique family life, in the suburbs! ~Philippians 4:4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!~

L.A. Marzulli's Blog

Politics, Prophecy & the Supernatural

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 862 other followers

